Find or Sell any Parts for Your Vehicle in USA

Monaco Grand Prix (2010) RESULT

Sun, 16 May 2010 00:00:00 -0700

The 2010 Monaco Grand Prix

Update: Michael Schumacher’s late move to pass Alonso to take 6th on the last corner after the safety car went in has been deemed illegal by stewards. Schumacher gets a 20 second penalty and drops back to 12th. Which probably made drivers’ steward for this race, Damon Hill, smile. Just a little.

It was business as usual for the Red Bulls at Monaco as they strolled through for a one-two with Mark Webber leading from start to finish without missing a beat. And that’s the first time an Aussie has won since Jack Brabham over 50 years ago. In a nutshell, that’s the 2010 Monaco Grand Prix. But there was more going on.

We had three safety cars, without which Webber would have finished miles ahead of the pack. As it was the last of the safety car outings bunched the pack up behind him on the last lap, pulling in before the last corner leaving Webber to take the corner and the chequered flag.

Probably the biggest losers of the day were McLaren, and Button in particular. You don’t expect an operation as slick as McLaren to have total twonks on the crew but they did today. One managed to leave a pod cover in place as Button went to the grid which cooked the engine leading to an overheat and retirement on lap three. Hamilton managed just fifth place.

Alonso managed to go from pitlane start to seventh at the finish, although he was more than a little upset when Schumacher passed him on the last corner after the safety car went in to snatch sixth. That is under investigation, and with Damon Hill the ‘Dribers Steward’ for this race there’s a good chance to get his own back! We’ll see.  Massa in the other Ferrari managed fourth place.

Busy Grand Prix with only 12 cars left at the end.

1. Mark Webber  RedBull-Renault

2. Sebastian Vettel  RedBull-Renault

3. Robert Kubica  Renault

4. Felipe Massa  Ferrari

5. Lewis Hamilton  McLaren

6. Michael Schumacher  Mercedes

7. Fernando Alonso  Ferrari

8. Nico Rosberg  Mercedes

9. Adrian Sutil  Force India-Mercedes

10. Vitantonio Liuzzi  Force India-Mercedes

By Cars UK