Find or Sell any Parts for Your Vehicle in USA

Winners of Australia's 2011 Target 2030 design competition revealed

Wed, 13 Jul 2011

The winners of the 2011 Target 2030 ‘Design the Car of the Future' competition have been announced.

The Victorian Automotive Chamber of Commerce (VACC) presented the winners of the Australian design competition with their Target 2030 Plaque and winner's check at a presentation ceremony at the Australian International Motor Show at the Melbourne Exhibition Center.

There were three categories within the competition: model-making, design and essay. The winners, along with their school, college or university, received a cash prize of AUS$3,000 (model-making and design categories) or AUS$500 (essay category).

David Purchase, executive director of the VACC, said: "This has become one of the premier automotive design competitions in Victoria and we are proud of all the entrants."

"The future of the automotive industry is in good hands because this competition demonstrates that the next generation of designers are talented and passionate. They are all destined for great careers."

The tertiary model winner within the model-making category was Nigel Remedios from Monash University, with Selby Coxon, Mark Richardson and Peter Elliot his lecturers.

Monash University also was the source of the winners of the tertiary design category and the essay category, Daniel Munnink and Kirk Dyer respectively.

Sam Karopoulos, taught at Trinity Grammar School in Kew, by Peter Clinton, was the recipient of the award for the secondary model.

The secondary design winner was Hamish Kentwell of Wonthaggi Secondary College, taught by Steven Jansen.

Martin McInerney at the Academy of Mary Immaculate, Fitzroy, taught the secondary essay winner, Tania Romano.

This year's winning entries were displayed at the MEC for the duration of the motor show where they were seen by thousands of people, including manufacturers, designers, car dealers and the media.

Purchase believes that one of the best rewards of the competition is the opportunity to seek the advice and feedback from the judging panel.

"In Richard Ferlazzo, (GM Holden Design, Chief Designer), Neil McDonald (Ford Motor Co Australia, Brand Communications Manager) and Brian Tanti (AutoHorizon Foundation, CEO) we have three highly respected judges who are just as passionate about Target 2030 as the students," he said.

Target 2030 (formally Target 2020) is an annual automotive design competition for secondary and tertiary students in Victoria.

By Rufus Thompson