Find or Sell any Parts for Your Vehicle in USA

EyesOn Design to honor Volkswagen design chief Walter de'Silva

Thu, 03 Mar 2011

The 24th-annual EyesOn Design car show will honor Volkswagen Group design chief Walter de'Silva with a Lifetime Design Achievement Award, the organizers said.

De'Silva is responsible for designing the passenger cars for Audi, Bentley, Bugatti, Lamborghini and Volkswagen. He designed the 2008 Volkswagen Golf, the '10 Touareg and many others.

His career began in 1972 with Fiat. De'Silva moved to Alfa Romeo to lead its design department in 1986 before moving to Seat in 1999. After working for the Spanish automaker for four years, he moved to Audi and ultimately ended up as the head of design for the Volkswagen Group in 2007.

The award recipient is chosen by previous winners, which include Tom Gale, Giorgetto Giugiaro, Shiro Nakamura, Sergio Pininfarina and Jack Telnack.

The EyesOn Design Car Show will be held on June 19 at the Edsel & Eleanor Ford House in Grosse Pointe Shores, Mich. The show will include prewar classics, muscle cars, exotics, customs and more.

By Brad Constant