Find or Sell any Parts for Your Vehicle in USA

Jury selects South Korean team as winners of Michelin Challenge Design 2015

Tue, 02 Sep 2014

Michelin has today announced the top 15 projects in its global 2015 Michelin Challenge Design competition. The Volkswagen Viento project by the South Korean team of Youngjai Jun and Gunyoung Yoon was judged to be the best, and awarded first place by a jury of the world's top automotive designers.

The French trio of Aurelien Deleuze, Pierre-Hugues Vallin and Robinson Mancaux we given the runners-up spot with their project, Silent Interactive Climber, while Cristian Polanco of Guatemala came third with his work, the Bugatti Liriom.

The designers of the top three projects will all be invited to attend the North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) as guests of Michelin and will be recognized during Michelin's annual private designer's reception. Michelin will also display the designs of all 15 winners at the 2015 NAIAS in Detroit in January.

"The jury was highly impressed by the creativity and quality of design submitted and we spent considerable time trying to choose the top three from all of the excellent work," said Stewart Reed, Michelin Challenge Design jury chairman and chair of the Transportation Design department, Art Center College of Design.

"Michelin Challenge Design has become a widely known and highly respected design competition and designers realize the opportunity it provides to gain recognition in the design community worldwide through the competition."

This year's 15 winning designs were chosen from more than 1,100 registrants representing 81 countries. These figures mean that over the fourteen years that the Michelin Challenge Design competition has been held, over 7,300 entries from 118 countries have been received.

The full list, in alphabetical order, of 2015 Michelin Challenge Design winners:

Aurelien Deleuze, Pierre-Hugues Vallin and Robinson Mancaux – France Mehdi Alamdari and Ali Doostdar – Australia Nicholas Lee Dunderdale – United Kingdom Arjun Govil – India Jean Hiss and Robin Apprioual – France Youngjai Jun and Gunyoung Yoon – South Korea Jihwan Jung – South Korea Marko Lukovic – Serbia Marcos Magister and Sebastian Vereertbrugghen – Belgium Jean-Thomas Mayer – France Hankil Moon – South Korea Cristian Polanco – Guatemala Siriphong Roongruengvuthikul – United Kingdom Petar Vukovic – Serbia Emre Yazici – Turkey

The winners were selected by the 2015 Michelin Challenge Design jury:

Stewart Reed – chair, Transportation Design department, Art Center College of Design, consultant and jury chairman, Michelin Challenge Design Rich Plavetich – general manager, design business, Nissan Design America Frank Saucedo – director, General Motors Advanced Design studio Thomas Sycha – design manager, BMW Group Design, Europe Freeman Thomas – director, strategic design, Ford Motor Company Mark Trostle – head of SRT design, Chrysler Jason Wilbur – manager, Honda Advanced Design studio Damien Michelin – honorary juror, Michelin North America

By Tom Phillips